2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: How high is the councils' area wide annual recycling rate?

Question code
Waste Reduction & Food
Recycling Rate
National Data
Question weight


Three Tier Criteria
Criteria met if the council has a recycling rate of 50% or more.
Additional points awarded if the council has a recycling rate of 60% and further points awarded if the council has a recycling rate of 70% or more.


Marked using data provided by DEFRA, Stats Wales, SEPA and DAERA-NI

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

126 single tier councils

1 point

35 single tier councils

2 points

18 single tier councils

3 points

4 single tier councils
Bridgend County Borough Council3/3statswales.gov.wales
Conwy County Borough Council3/3statswales.gov.wales
Pembrokeshire County Council3/3statswales.gov.wales
Vale of Glamorgan Council3/3statswales.gov.wales
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Carmarthenshire County Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Ceredigion County Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Denbighshire County Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
East Riding of Yorkshire Council2/3letsrecycle.com
Flintshire County Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Gwynedd County Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Isle of Anglesey County Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Monmouthshire County Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Newport City Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Powys County Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council2/3letsrecycle.com
Swansea City Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Torfaen County Borough Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Wrexham County Borough Council2/3statswales.gov.wales
Angus Council1/3sepa.org.uk
Bath and North East Somerset Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Bracknell Forest Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Caerphilly County Borough Council1/3statswales.gov.wales
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Cardiff Council1/3statswales.gov.wales
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)1/3letsrecycle.com
Cheshire West and Chester Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Clackmannanshire Council1/3sepa.org.uk
Dorset Council1/3letsrecycle.com
East Lothian Council1/3sepa.org.uk
East Renfrewshire Council1/3sepa.org.uk
Milton Keynes1/3letsrecycle.com
North Ayrshire Council1/3sepa.org.uk
North Lincolnshire Council1/3letsrecycle.com
North Somerset Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Perth and Kinross Council1/3sepa.org.uk
Reading Borough Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Renfrewshire Council1/3sepa.org.uk
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead1/3letsrecycle.com
Rutland County Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Scottish Borders Council1/3sepa.org.uk
Shropshire Council - Unitary1/3letsrecycle.com
Somerset Council1/3letsrecycle.com
South Ayrshire Council1/3sepa.org.uk
South Gloucestershire Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Stirling Council1/3sepa.org.uk
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council1/3letsrecycle.com
The Moray Council1/3sepa.org.uk
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Wokingham Borough Council1/3letsrecycle.com
Aberdeen City Council0/3
Aberdeenshire Council0/3
Argyll and Bute Council0/3
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Bedford Borough Council0/3
Birmingham City Council0/3
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0/3
Blackpool Borough Council0/3
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council0/3
Bradford Metropolitan District Council0/3
Brighton and Hove City Council0/3
Bristol City Council0/3
Buckinghamshire Council0/3
Central Bedfordshire Council0/3
City of Edinburgh Council0/3
City of London0/3
City of York Council0/3
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar0/3
Cornwall Council (Unitary)0/3
Coventry City Council0/3
Darlington Borough Council0/3
Derby City Council0/3
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/3
Dundee City Council0/3
Durham County Council0/3
East Ayrshire Council0/3
East Dunbartonshire Council0/3
Falkirk Council0/3
Fife Council0/3
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Glasgow City Council0/3
Halton Borough Council0/3
Hartlepool Borough Council0/3
Herefordshire Council0/3
Inverclyde Council0/3
Isle of Wight Council0/3
Isles of Scilly0/3
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council0/3
Kirklees Council0/3
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Leeds City Council0/3
Leicester City Council0/3
Liverpool City Council0/3
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham0/3
London Borough of Barnet0/3
London Borough of Bexley0/3
London Borough of Brent0/3
London Borough of Bromley0/3
London Borough of Camden0/3
London Borough of Croydon0/3
London Borough of Ealing0/3
London Borough of Enfield0/3
London Borough of Hackney0/3
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham0/3
London Borough of Haringey0/3
London Borough of Harrow0/3
London Borough of Havering0/3
London Borough of Hillingdon0/3
London Borough of Hounslow0/3
London Borough of Islington0/3
London Borough of Lambeth0/3
London Borough of Lewisham0/3
London Borough of Merton0/3
London Borough of Newham0/3
London Borough of Redbridge0/3
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames0/3
London Borough of Southwark0/3
London Borough of Sutton0/3
London Borough of Tower Hamlets0/3
London Borough of Waltham Forest0/3
London Borough of Wandsworth0/3
Luton Borough Council0/3
Manchester City Council0/3
Medway Council0/3
Middlesbrough Borough Council0/3
Midlothian Council0/3
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council0/3
North East Lincolnshire Council0/3
North Lanarkshire Council0/3
North Northamptonshire Council0/3
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Northumberland Council0/3
Nottingham City Council0/3
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Orkney Islands Council0/3
Peterborough City Council0/3
Plymouth City Council0/3
Portsmouth City Council0/3
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/3
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Royal Borough of Greenwich0/3
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea0/3
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames0/3
Salford City Council0/3
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Sheffield City Council0/3
Shetland Islands Council0/3
Slough Borough Council0/3
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Southampton City Council0/3
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0/3
South Lanarkshire Council0/3
South Tyneside Council0/3
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council0/3
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/3
Sunderland City Council0/3
Swindon Borough Council0/3
Telford & Wrekin Council0/3
The Highland Council0/3
Thurrock Council0/3
Torbay Council0/3
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council0/3
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Warrington Borough Council0/3
West Berkshire Council0/3
West Dunbartonshire Council0/3
West Lothian Council0/3
Westminster City Council0/3
West Northamptonshire Council0/3
Wiltshire Council0/3
Wirral Council0/3
Wolverhampton City Council0/3