2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council's area wide carbon emissions decreased, according to UK Government data?

Question code
Governance & Finance
Emission data reduction
National Data
Question weight


Three tier criteria
Criteria met if the council has had a 2% or more emission reduction from 2019 to 2021 data.

Additional points awarded if the emission reduction is more than 5%, or further points if the reduction is more than 10% from 2019 to 2021.


Marked using data provided by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. The data that will be used is the percentage difference between the calendar years 2021 and 2019 in the "Local Authority territorial carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions estimates within the scope of influence of Local Authorities" when it is published in Summer 2023.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

67 single tier councils

1 point

76 single tier councils

2 points

36 single tier councils

3 points

3 single tier councils
City of London3/3gov.uk
Isles of Scilly3/3gov.uk
Telford & Wrekin Council3/3gov.uk
Blackpool Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Brighton and Hove City Council2/3gov.uk
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Clackmannanshire Council2/3gov.uk
Conwy County Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Denbighshire County Council2/3gov.uk
Flintshire County Council2/3gov.uk
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Gwynedd County Council2/3gov.uk
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council2/3gov.uk
Leeds City Council2/3gov.uk
Liverpool City Council2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Harrow2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Lewisham2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Newham2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Tower Hamlets2/3gov.uk
Luton Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Manchester City Council2/3gov.uk
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Middlesbrough Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Monmouthshire County Council2/3gov.uk
Pembrokeshire County Council2/3gov.uk
Perth and Kinross Council2/3gov.uk
Renfrewshire Council2/3gov.uk
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Scottish Borders Council2/3gov.uk
Sheffield City Council2/3gov.uk
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Southampton City Council2/3gov.uk
South Gloucestershire Council2/3gov.uk
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Sunderland City Council2/3gov.uk
Swindon Borough Council2/3gov.uk
West Lothian Council2/3gov.uk
Wirral Council2/3gov.uk
Aberdeen City Council1/3gov.uk
Argyll and Bute Council1/3gov.uk
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Bath and North East Somerset Council1/3gov.uk
Birmingham City Council1/3gov.uk
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Bracknell Forest Council1/3gov.uk
Bradford Metropolitan District Council1/3gov.uk
Bridgend County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Buckinghamshire Council1/3gov.uk
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Caerphilly County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Cardiff Council1/3gov.uk
Carmarthenshire County Council1/3gov.uk
Central Bedfordshire Council1/3gov.uk
Ceredigion County Council1/3gov.uk
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)1/3gov.uk
City of Edinburgh Council1/3gov.uk
City of York Council1/3gov.uk
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar1/3gov.uk
Cornwall Council (Unitary)1/3gov.uk
Coventry City Council1/3gov.uk
Darlington Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Dorset Council1/3gov.uk
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Durham County Council1/3gov.uk
East Riding of Yorkshire Council1/3gov.uk
Herefordshire Council1/3gov.uk
Isle of Anglesey County Council1/3gov.uk
Kirklees Council1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Barnet1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Bexley1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Enfield1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Hackney1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Hillingdon1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Hounslow1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Islington1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Redbridge1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Southwark1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Waltham Forest1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Wandsworth1/3gov.uk
Milton Keynes1/3gov.uk
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council1/3gov.uk
Newport City Council1/3gov.uk
North Northamptonshire Council1/3gov.uk
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Northumberland Council1/3gov.uk
Portsmouth City Council1/3gov.uk
Powys County Council1/3gov.uk
Reading Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea1/3gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames1/3gov.uk
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead1/3gov.uk
Rutland County Council1/3gov.uk
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council1/3gov.uk
South Tyneside Council1/3gov.uk
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Stoke-on-Trent City Council1/3gov.uk
Swansea City Council1/3gov.uk
Torbay Council1/3gov.uk
Torfaen County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Vale of Glamorgan Council1/3gov.uk
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council1/3gov.uk
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
West Berkshire Council1/3gov.uk
Westminster City Council1/3gov.uk
Wiltshire Council1/3gov.uk
Wokingham Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Aberdeenshire Council0/3
Angus Council0/3
Bedford Borough Council0/3
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0/3
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council0/3
Bristol City Council0/3
Cheshire West and Chester Council0/3
Derby City Council0/3
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/3
Dundee City Council0/3
East Ayrshire Council0/3
East Dunbartonshire Council0/3
East Lothian Council0/3
East Renfrewshire Council0/3
Falkirk Council0/3
Fife Council0/3
Glasgow City Council0/3
Halton Borough Council0/3
Hartlepool Borough Council0/3
Inverclyde Council0/3
Isle of Wight Council0/3
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Leicester City Council0/3
London Borough of Brent0/3
London Borough of Bromley0/3
London Borough of Camden0/3
London Borough of Croydon0/3
London Borough of Ealing0/3
London Borough of Haringey0/3
London Borough of Havering0/3
London Borough of Lambeth0/3
London Borough of Merton0/3
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames0/3
London Borough of Sutton0/3
Medway Council0/3
Midlothian Council0/3
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council0/3
North Ayrshire Council0/3
North East Lincolnshire Council0/3
North Lanarkshire Council0/3
North Lincolnshire Council0/3
North Somerset Council0/3
Nottingham City Council0/3
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Orkney Islands Council0/3
Peterborough City Council0/3
Plymouth City Council0/3
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/3
Royal Borough of Greenwich0/3
Salford City Council0/3
Shetland Islands Council0/3
Shropshire Council - Unitary0/3
Slough Borough Council0/3
South Ayrshire Council0/3
South Lanarkshire Council0/3
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Stirling Council0/3
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
The Highland Council0/3
The Moray Council0/3
Thurrock Council0/3
Warrington Borough Council0/3
West Dunbartonshire Council0/3
West Northamptonshire Council0/3
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Wolverhampton City Council0/3
Wrexham County Borough Council0/3