2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council's area wide carbon emissions decreased, according to UK Government data?

Question code
Governance & Finance
Emission data reduction
National Data
Question weight


Three tier criteria
Criteria met if the council has had a 2% or more emission reduction from 2019 to 2021 data.

Additional points awarded if the emission reduction is more than 5%, or further points if the reduction is more than 10% from 2019 to 2021.


Marked using data provided by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. The data that will be used is the percentage difference between the calendar years 2021 and 2019 in the "Local Authority territorial carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions estimates within the scope of influence of Local Authorities" when it is published in Summer 2023.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

59 district councils

1 point

64 district councils

2 points

37 district councils

3 points

4 district councils
Crawley Borough Council3/3gov.uk
Gravesham Borough Council3/3gov.uk
South Ribble Borough Council3/3gov.uk
West Suffolk Council3/3gov.uk
Adur District Council2/3gov.uk
Basildon Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Broadland District Council2/3gov.uk
Burnley Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Chelmsford City Council2/3gov.uk
Chichester District Council2/3gov.uk
Cotswold District Council2/3gov.uk
East Cambridgeshire District Council2/3gov.uk
East Hampshire District Council2/3gov.uk
East Lindsey District Council2/3gov.uk
Exeter City Council2/3gov.uk
Fareham Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Fylde Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Guildford Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Havant Borough Council2/3gov.uk
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Mid Suffolk District Council2/3gov.uk
Mid Sussex District Council2/3gov.uk
North Hertfordshire District Council2/3gov.uk
Pendle Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Redditch Borough Council2/3gov.uk
South Norfolk District Council2/3gov.uk
Spelthorne Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Stevenage Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Stratford-on-Avon District Council2/3gov.uk
Teignbridge District Council2/3gov.uk
Test Valley Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Uttlesford District Council2/3gov.uk
Vale of White Horse District Council2/3gov.uk
Warwick District Council2/3gov.uk
Watford Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Wealden District Council2/3gov.uk
Woking Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Worthing Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Wyre Forest District Council2/3gov.uk
Arun District Council1/3gov.uk
Ashford Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Babergh District Council1/3gov.uk
Borough of Broxbourne1/3gov.uk
Boston Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Braintree District Council1/3gov.uk
Breckland District Council1/3gov.uk
Bromsgrove District Council1/3gov.uk
Cannock Chase District Council1/3gov.uk
Cheltenham Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Colchester Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Dacorum Council1/3gov.uk
Dartford Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Derbyshire Dales District Council1/3gov.uk
Dover District Council1/3gov.uk
East Devon District Council1/3gov.uk
East Hertfordshire District Council1/3gov.uk
Eastleigh Borough Council1/3gov.uk
East Staffordshire Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Elmbridge Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Epping Forest District Council1/3gov.uk
Folkestone and Hythe District Council1/3gov.uk
Gloucester City Council1/3gov.uk
Gosport Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Great Yarmouth Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Harborough District Council1/3gov.uk
Hart District Council1/3gov.uk
Hastings Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Hertsmere Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Horsham District Council1/3gov.uk
Ipswich Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Lancaster City Council1/3gov.uk
Lewes District Council1/3gov.uk
Lichfield District Council1/3gov.uk
Mole Valley District Council1/3gov.uk
Newark and Sherwood District Council1/3gov.uk
New Forest District Council1/3gov.uk
North Devon Council1/3gov.uk
North Warwickshire Borough Council1/3gov.uk
North West Leicestershire District Council1/3gov.uk
Preston City Council1/3gov.uk
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Ribble Valley Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Rochford District Council1/3gov.uk
Rossendale Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Runnymede Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Rushmoor Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Sevenoaks District Council1/3gov.uk
South Derbyshire District Council1/3gov.uk
South Kesteven District Council1/3gov.uk
South Oxfordshire District Council1/3gov.uk
South Staffordshire Council1/3gov.uk
Stafford Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council1/3gov.uk
Tamworth Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Tandridge District Council1/3gov.uk
Tewkesbury Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Three Rivers District Council1/3gov.uk
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Waverley Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Welwyn Hatfield Council1/3gov.uk
West Lindsey District Council1/3gov.uk
West Oxfordshire District Council1/3gov.uk
Winchester City Council1/3gov.uk
Amber Valley Borough Council0/3
Ashfield District Council0/3
Bassetlaw District Council0/3
Blaby District Council0/3
Bolsover District Council0/3
Brentwood Borough Council0/3
Broxtowe Borough Council0/3
Cambridge City Council0/3
Canterbury City Council0/3
Castle Point Borough Council0/3
Charnwood Borough Council0/3
Cherwell District Council0/3
Chesterfield Borough Council0/3
Chorley Council0/3
City of Lincoln Council0/3
Eastbourne Borough Council0/3
East Suffolk Council0/3
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council0/3
Erewash Borough Council0/3
Fenland District Council0/3
Forest of Dean District Council0/3
Gedling Borough Council0/3
Harlow Council0/3
High Peak Borough Council0/3
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council0/3
Huntingdonshire District Council0/3
Hyndburn Borough Council0/3
Maidstone Borough Council0/3
Maldon District Council0/3
Malvern Hills District Council0/3
Mansfield District Council0/3
Melton Borough Council0/3
Mid Devon District Council0/3
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/3
North East Derbyshire District Council0/3
North Kesteven District Council0/3
North Norfolk District Council0/3
Norwich City Council0/3
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/3
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/3
Oxford City Council0/3
Rother District Council0/3
Rugby Borough Council0/3
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/3
South Cambridgeshire District Council0/3
South Hams District Council0/3
South Holland District Council0/3
St Albans City and District Council0/3
Stroud District Council0/3
Surrey Heath Borough Council0/3
Swale Borough Council0/3
Tendring District Council0/3
Thanet District Council0/3
Torridge District Council0/3
West Devon Borough Council0/3
West Lancashire Borough Council0/3
Worcester City Council0/3
Wychavon District Council0/3
Wyre Council0/3