2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Does the council's medium term financial plan include the council's net zero target and make tackling the climate emergency one of its main priorities?

Question code
Governance & Finance
Net-Zero Embedded in mid-term Financial Plan
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Criteria met if climate action (alternatively called sustainability or environment) is listed as one of the council's core priorities or equivalent. It must have its own heading or section and a net-zero target date must be referenced.

The net-zero target date must be an area-wide target, either the UK Government's national target, the devolved nation's target or the council's area-wide net-zero target.


A mid-term Financial Plan is a plan (often covering four years) which sets out the council's commitment to provide services that meet the needs of people locally and that represent value for money within the overall resources available to the council.

We will accept other language for target dates being used such as carbon neutrality.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

134 single tier councils

1 point

47 single tier councils
Aberdeen City Council1/1committees.aberdeencity.gov.uk
Aberdeenshire Council1/1committees.aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Bath and North East Somerset Council1/1beta.bathnes.gov.uk
Blackpool Borough Council1/1democracy.blackpool.gov.uk
Bristol City Council1/1bristol.gov.uk
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)1/1cheshireeast.gov.uk
City of Edinburgh Council1/1edinburgh.gov.uk
Dorset Council1/1moderngov.dorsetcouncil.gov.uk
Durham County Council1/1democracy.durham.gov.uk
Glasgow City Council1/1gl-prod-portal-cache.azureedge.net
Isle of Wight Council1/1iow.moderngov.co.uk
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council1/1cmis.hullcc.gov.uk
Leeds City Council1/1democracy.leeds.gov.uk
Liverpool City Council1/1liverpool.gov.uk
London Borough of Barnet1/1barnet.moderngov.co.uk
London Borough of Ealing1/1ealing.gov.uk
London Borough of Enfield1/1enfield.gov.uk
London Borough of Havering1/1democracy.havering.gov.uk
London Borough of Hillingdon1/1modgov.hillingdon.gov.uk
London Borough of Hounslow1/1democraticservices.hounslow.gov.uk
London Borough of Merton1/1merton.gov.uk
London Borough of Newham1/1newham.gov.uk
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames1/1cabnet.richmond.gov.uk
London Borough of Wandsworth1/1democracy.wandsworth.gov.uk
Luton Borough Council1/1democracy.luton.gov.uk
Manchester City Council1/1democracy.manchester.gov.uk
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council1/1newcastle.gov.uk
North Ayrshire Council1/1north-ayrshire.gov.uk
North Somerset Council1/1n-somerset.moderngov.co.uk
Perth and Kinross Council1/1perth-and-kinross.cmis.uk.com
Peterborough City Council1/1peterborough.gov.uk
Powys County Council1/1powysw.moderngov.co.uk
Reading Borough Council1/1images.reading.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Greenwich1/1committees.royalgreenwich.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea1/1rbkc.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead1/1rbwm.moderngov.co.uk
Shetland Islands Council1/1shetland.gov.uk
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council1/1solihull.gov.uk
South Tyneside Council1/1southtyneside.gov.uk
Swansea City Council1/1democracy.swansea.gov.uk
Swindon Borough Council1/1ww5.swindon.gov.uk
Telford & Wrekin Council1/1democracy.telford.gov.uk
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council1/1trafford.gov.uk
Warrington Borough Council1/1cmis.warrington.gov.uk
Westminster City Council1/1google.com
Wirral Council1/1wirralintelligenceservice.org
Wokingham Borough Council1/1wokingham.moderngov.co.uk
Angus Council0/1
Argyll and Bute Council0/1
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Bedford Borough Council0/1
Birmingham City Council0/1
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0/1
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council0/1
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council0/1
Bracknell Forest Council0/1
Bradford Metropolitan District Council0/1
Bridgend County Borough Council0/1
Brighton and Hove City Council0/1
Buckinghamshire Council0/1
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Caerphilly County Borough Council0/1
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Cardiff Council0/1
Carmarthenshire County Council0/1
Central Bedfordshire Council0/1
Ceredigion County Council0/1
Cheshire West and Chester Council0/1
City of London0/1
City of York Council0/1
Clackmannanshire Council0/1
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar0/1
Conwy County Borough Council0/1
Cornwall Council (Unitary)0/1
Coventry City Council0/1
Darlington Borough Council0/1
Denbighshire County Council0/1
Derby City Council0/1
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/1
Dundee City Council0/1
East Ayrshire Council0/1
East Dunbartonshire Council0/1
East Lothian Council0/1
East Renfrewshire Council0/1
East Riding of Yorkshire Council0/1
Falkirk Council0/1
Fife Council0/1
Flintshire County Council0/1
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Gwynedd County Council0/1
Halton Borough Council0/1
Hartlepool Borough Council0/1
Herefordshire Council0/1
Inverclyde Council0/1
Isle of Anglesey County Council0/1
Kirklees Council0/1
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Leicester City Council0/1
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham0/1
London Borough of Bexley0/1
London Borough of Brent0/1
London Borough of Bromley0/1
London Borough of Camden0/1
London Borough of Croydon0/1
London Borough of Hackney0/1
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham0/1
London Borough of Haringey0/1
London Borough of Harrow0/1
London Borough of Islington0/1
London Borough of Lambeth0/1
London Borough of Lewisham0/1
London Borough of Redbridge0/1
London Borough of Southwark0/1
London Borough of Sutton0/1
London Borough of Tower Hamlets0/1
London Borough of Waltham Forest0/1
Medway Council0/1
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council0/1
Middlesbrough Borough Council0/1
Midlothian Council0/1
Milton Keynes0/1
Monmouthshire County Council0/1
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council0/1
Newport City Council0/1
North East Lincolnshire Council0/1
North Lanarkshire Council0/1
North Lincolnshire Council0/1
North Northamptonshire Council0/1
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Northumberland Council0/1
Nottingham City Council0/1
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Orkney Islands Council0/1
Pembrokeshire County Council0/1
Plymouth City Council0/1
Portsmouth City Council0/1
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/1
Renfrewshire Council0/1
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council0/1
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames0/1
Rutland County Council0/1
Salford City Council0/1
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Scottish Borders Council0/1
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Sheffield City Council0/1
Shropshire Council - Unitary0/1
Slough Borough Council0/1
Southampton City Council0/1
South Ayrshire Council0/1
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0/1
South Gloucestershire Council0/1
South Lanarkshire Council0/1
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Stirling Council0/1
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council0/1
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/1
Sunderland City Council0/1
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
The Highland Council0/1
The Moray Council0/1
Thurrock Council0/1
Torbay Council0/1
Torfaen County Borough Council0/1
Vale of Glamorgan Council0/1
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council0/1
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
West Berkshire Council0/1
West Dunbartonshire Council0/1
West Lothian Council0/1
West Northamptonshire Council0/1
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Wiltshire Council0/1
Wolverhampton City Council0/1
Wrexham County Borough Council0/1