2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council passed a motion in support of divestment from all fossil fuels from the councils' pension funds?

Question code
Governance & Finance
Divestment of Pension Funds
National Data
Question weight


Points awarded if the motion supports the divestment of the council's own investments.

Points also awarded if the motion supports the divestment of the council's pension investments.


Divestment is the opposite of investment, and consists of stocks, bonds or investment funds that are unethical, and in this case, invested in fossil fuel companies such as Shell, BP and Exxon.

Marked using data provided by UK Divest - https://www.divest.org.uk/council-motions/

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

151 single tier councils

1 point

3 single tier councils

2 points

32 single tier councils
Bedford Borough Council2/2divest.org.uk
Birmingham City Council2/2divest.org.uk
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council2/2divest.org.uk
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council2/2divest.org.uk
Bradford Metropolitan District Council2/2divest.org.uk
Brighton and Hove City Council2/2divest.org.uk
Bristol City Council2/2divest.org.uk
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council2/2divest.org.uk
Cardiff Council2/2divest.org.uk
Carmarthenshire County Council2/2divest.org.uk
Ceredigion County Council2/2divest.org.uk
City of Edinburgh Council2/2divest.org.uk
Derby City Council2/2divest.org.uk
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council2/2divest.org.uk
East Lothian Council2/2divest.org.uk
East Riding of Yorkshire Council2/2divest.org.uk
Glasgow City Council2/2divest.org.uk
Kirklees Council2/2divest.org.uk
Leeds City Council2/2divest.org.uk
Leicester City Council2/2divest.org.uk
Luton Borough Council2/2divest.org.uk
Manchester City Council2/2divest.org.uk
Monmouthshire County Council2/2divest.org.uk
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council2/2divest.org.uk
Powys County Council2/2divest.org.uk
Reading Borough Council2/2divest.org.uk
Renfrewshire Council2/2divest.org.uk
Shropshire Council - Unitary2/2divest.org.uk
South Lanarkshire Council2/2divest.org.uk
Stirling Council2/2divest.org.uk
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council2/2divest.org.uk
West Dunbartonshire Council2/2divest.org.uk
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham1/2divest.org.uk
Peterborough City Council1/2divest.org.uk
Sheffield City Council1/2divest.org.uk
Aberdeen City Council0/2
Aberdeenshire Council0/2
Angus Council0/2
Argyll and Bute Council0/2
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Bath and North East Somerset Council0/2
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0/2
Blackpool Borough Council0/2
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council0/2
Bracknell Forest Council0/2
Bridgend County Borough Council0/2
Buckinghamshire Council0/2
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Caerphilly County Borough Council0/2
Central Bedfordshire Council0/2
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)0/2
Cheshire West and Chester Council0/2
City of London0/2
City of York Council0/2
Clackmannanshire Council0/2
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar0/2
Conwy County Borough Council0/2
Cornwall Council (Unitary)0/2
Coventry City Council0/2
Cumberland Council0/2
Darlington Borough Council0/2
Denbighshire County Council0/2
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Dorset Council0/2
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/2
Dundee City Council0/2
Durham County Council0/2
East Ayrshire Council0/2
East Dunbartonshire Council0/2
East Renfrewshire Council0/2
Falkirk Council0/2
Fife Council0/2
Flintshire County Council0/2
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Gwynedd County Council0/2
Halton Borough Council0/2
Hartlepool Borough Council0/2
Herefordshire Council0/2
Inverclyde Council0/2
Isle of Anglesey County Council0/2
Isle of Wight Council0/2
Isles of Scilly0/2
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council0/2
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Liverpool City Council0/2
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham0/2
London Borough of Barnet0/2
London Borough of Bexley0/2
London Borough of Brent0/2
London Borough of Bromley0/2
London Borough of Camden0/2
London Borough of Croydon0/2
London Borough of Ealing0/2
London Borough of Enfield0/2
London Borough of Hackney0/2
London Borough of Haringey0/2
London Borough of Harrow0/2
London Borough of Havering0/2
London Borough of Hillingdon0/2
London Borough of Hounslow0/2
London Borough of Islington0/2
London Borough of Lambeth0/2
London Borough of Lewisham0/2
London Borough of Merton0/2
London Borough of Newham0/2
London Borough of Redbridge0/2
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames0/2
London Borough of Southwark0/2
London Borough of Sutton0/2
London Borough of Tower Hamlets0/2
London Borough of Waltham Forest0/2
London Borough of Wandsworth0/2
Medway Council0/2
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council0/2
Middlesbrough Borough Council0/2
Midlothian Council0/2
Milton Keynes0/2
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council0/2
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council0/2
Newport City Council0/2
North Ayrshire Council0/2
North East Lincolnshire Council0/2
North Lanarkshire Council0/2
North Lincolnshire Council0/2
North Northamptonshire Council0/2
North Somerset Council0/2
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Northumberland Council0/2
North Yorkshire Council0/2
Nottingham City Council0/2
Orkney Islands Council0/2
Pembrokeshire County Council0/2
Perth and Kinross Council0/2
Plymouth City Council0/2
Portsmouth City Council0/2
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/2
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council0/2
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Royal Borough of Greenwich0/2
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea0/2
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames0/2
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead0/2
Rutland County Council0/2
Salford City Council0/2
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Scottish Borders Council0/2
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Shetland Islands Council0/2
Slough Borough Council0/2
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Somerset Council0/2
Southampton City Council0/2
South Ayrshire Council0/2
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0/2
South Gloucestershire Council0/2
South Tyneside Council0/2
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council0/2
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/2
Sunderland City Council0/2
Swansea City Council0/2
Swindon Borough Council0/2
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Telford & Wrekin Council0/2
The Highland Council0/2
The Moray Council0/2
Thurrock Council0/2
Torbay Council0/2
Torfaen County Borough Council0/2
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Vale of Glamorgan Council0/2
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Warrington Borough Council0/2
West Berkshire Council0/2
West Lothian Council0/2
Westminster City Council0/2
Westmorland and Furness Council0/2
West Northamptonshire Council0/2
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Wiltshire Council0/2
Wirral Council0/2
Wokingham Borough Council0/2
Wolverhampton City Council0/2
Wrexham County Borough Council0/2