2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council raised income for climate action from property development?

Question code
Governance & Finance
Funding sources
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Criteria is met if the council has used either the Community Infrastructure Levy or Section 106 to raise any amount of funds for climate action, in England and Wales. There must be explicit reference to these funds being used for climate action, such as being used to deliver the council's climate action plan.

In Scotland, the criteria is met if the council has used section 75 of the Town and Country Planning (Scotland) Act 1997.
In Northern Ireland, the criteria is met if the council has used section 76 of the 2011 Planning Act.


The Community Infrastructure Levy is a charge that local authorities can set on new development in order to raise funds to help fund specific projects, such as the infrastructure, facilities and services needed to support new homes and businesses.

Section 106 are legal agreements between Local Authorities and developers linked to planning permissions, which can include councils requiring developers to build specific community infrastructure (such as bus and cycles lanes) or provide finance for specific council projects. They can also be known as planning obligations.

Section 75 of the Town and Country Planning (Scotland) Act 1997 is similar to section 106, where the council can require conditions of the developers, such as building specific community infrastructure or providing finance for specific council projects.

Section 76 of the 2011 Planning Act is similar to section 106, where the council can require conditions of the developers, such as building specific community infrastructure or providing finance for specific council projects.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

131 district councils

1 point

33 district councils
Adur District Council1/1adur-worthing.gov.uk
Arun District Council1/1democracy.arun.gov.uk
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council1/1basingstoke.gov.uk
Chelmsford City Council1/1chelmsford.gov.uk
Chichester District Council1/1chichester.gov.uk
Colchester Borough Council1/1cbccrmdata.blob.core.windows.net
Dartford Borough Council1/1dartford.gov.uk
Eastbourne Borough Council1/1lewes-eastbourne.gov.uk
East Suffolk Council1/1eastsuffolk.gov.uk
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council1/1epsom-ewell.gov.uk
Erewash Borough Council1/1erewash.gov.uk
Exeter City Council1/1committees.exeter.gov.uk
Hart District Council1/1hart.gov.uk
Hertsmere Borough Council1/1hertsmere.gov.uk
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council1/1west-norfolk.gov.uk
Lewes District Council1/1lewes-eastbourne.gov.uk
Maldon District Council1/1maldon.gov.uk
Mid Devon District Council1/1sustainablemiddevon.org.uk
North Devon Council1/1northdevon.gov.uk
North East Derbyshire District Council1/1ne-derbyshire.gov.uk
North Hertfordshire District Council1/1north-herts.gov.uk
Oxford City Council1/1consultation.oxford.gov.uk
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council1/1reigate-banstead.moderngov.co.uk
Rother District Council1/1rother.gov.uk
Runnymede Borough Council1/1runnymede.gov.uk
Stratford-on-Avon District Council1/1stratford.gov.uk
Stroud District Council1/1stroud.gov.uk
Teignbridge District Council1/1democracy.teignbridge.gov.uk
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council1/1tunbridgewells.gov.uk
Watford Borough Council1/1watfordneighbourhoodgrant.commonplace.is
Wealden District Council1/1wealden.gov.uk
West Suffolk Council1/1westsuffolk.gov.uk
Worthing Borough Council1/1adur-worthing.gov.uk
Amber Valley Borough Council0/1
Ashfield District Council0/1
Ashford Borough Council0/1
Babergh District Council0/1
Basildon Borough Council0/1
Bassetlaw District Council0/1
Blaby District Council0/1
Bolsover District Council0/1
Borough of Broxbourne0/1
Boston Borough Council0/1
Braintree District Council0/1
Breckland District Council0/1
Brentwood Borough Council0/1
Broadland District Council0/1
Bromsgrove District Council0/1
Broxtowe Borough Council0/1
Burnley Borough Council0/1
Cambridge City Council0/1
Cannock Chase District Council0/1
Canterbury City Council0/1
Castle Point Borough Council0/1
Charnwood Borough Council0/1
Cheltenham Borough Council0/1
Cherwell District Council0/1
Chesterfield Borough Council0/1
Chorley Council0/1
City of Lincoln Council0/1
Cotswold District Council0/1
Crawley Borough Council0/1
Dacorum Council0/1
Derbyshire Dales District Council0/1
Dover District Council0/1
East Cambridgeshire District Council0/1
East Devon District Council0/1
East Hampshire District Council0/1
East Hertfordshire District Council0/1
Eastleigh Borough Council0/1
East Lindsey District Council0/1
East Staffordshire Borough Council0/1
Elmbridge Borough Council0/1
Epping Forest District Council0/1
Fareham Borough Council0/1
Fenland District Council0/1
Folkestone and Hythe District Council0/1
Forest of Dean District Council0/1
Fylde Borough Council0/1
Gedling Borough Council0/1
Gloucester City Council0/1
Gosport Borough Council0/1
Gravesham Borough Council0/1
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/1
Guildford Borough Council0/1
Harborough District Council0/1
Harlow Council0/1
Hastings Borough Council0/1
Havant Borough Council0/1
High Peak Borough Council0/1
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council0/1
Horsham District Council0/1
Huntingdonshire District Council0/1
Hyndburn Borough Council0/1
Ipswich Borough Council0/1
Lancaster City Council0/1
Lichfield District Council0/1
Maidstone Borough Council0/1
Malvern Hills District Council0/1
Mansfield District Council0/1
Melton Borough Council0/1
Mid Suffolk District Council0/1
Mid Sussex District Council0/1
Mole Valley District Council0/1
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/1
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/1
New Forest District Council0/1
North Kesteven District Council0/1
North Norfolk District Council0/1
North Warwickshire Borough Council0/1
North West Leicestershire District Council0/1
Norwich City Council0/1
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/1
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/1
Pendle Borough Council0/1
Preston City Council0/1
Redditch Borough Council0/1
Ribble Valley Borough Council0/1
Rochford District Council0/1
Rossendale Borough Council0/1
Rugby Borough Council0/1
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/1
Rushmoor Borough Council0/1
Sevenoaks District Council0/1
South Cambridgeshire District Council0/1
South Derbyshire District Council0/1
South Hams District Council0/1
South Holland District Council0/1
South Kesteven District Council0/1
South Norfolk District Council0/1
South Oxfordshire District Council0/1
South Ribble Borough Council0/1
South Staffordshire Council0/1
Spelthorne Borough Council0/1
Stafford Borough Council0/1
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/1
St Albans City and District Council0/1
Stevenage Borough Council0/1
Surrey Heath Borough Council0/1
Swale Borough Council0/1
Tamworth Borough Council0/1
Tandridge District Council0/1
Tendring District Council0/1
Test Valley Borough Council0/1
Tewkesbury Borough Council0/1
Thanet District Council0/1
Three Rivers District Council0/1
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council0/1
Torridge District Council0/1
Uttlesford District Council0/1
Vale of White Horse District Council0/1
Warwick District Council0/1
Waverley Borough Council0/1
Welwyn Hatfield Council0/1
West Devon Borough Council0/1
West Lancashire Borough Council0/1
West Lindsey District Council0/1
West Oxfordshire District Council0/1
Winchester City Council0/1
Woking Borough Council0/1
Worcester City Council0/1
Wychavon District Council0/1
Wyre Council0/1
Wyre Forest District Council0/1