2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Does the council require new homes to make an improvement on the Part L building regulations?

Question code
Planning & Land Use
New Homes - Low Carbon Requirements
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Points awarded if the council has a policy that requires a reduction in carbon/energy of new homes within the councils area that is 19% higher than the Part L building regulations.

This would be the same as Scottish councils requiring "Silver standard" as a minimum.


Part L building regulations are the English national standard building regulations, which define the energy performance and carbon emissions in new homes.

Councils can require improvements that require lower emissions than the current building regulations.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

110 single tier councils

1 point

72 single tier councils
Aberdeenshire Council1/1aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Bath and North East Somerset Council1/1beta.bathnes.gov.uk
Bedford Borough Council1/1bedford.gov.uk
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council1/1greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk
Bracknell Forest Council1/1bracknell-forest.gov.uk
Bridgend County Borough Council1/1bridgend.gov.uk
Brighton and Hove City Council1/1brighton-hove.gov.uk
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council1/1greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk
City of Edinburgh Council1/1edinburgh.gov.uk
City of London1/1london.gov.uk
Cornwall Council (Unitary)1/1cornwall.gov.uk
Durham County Council1/1durham.gov.uk
East Ayrshire Council1/1east-ayrshire.gov.uk
East Renfrewshire Council1/1eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk
Glasgow City Council1/1glasgow.gov.uk
Isle of Wight Council1/1iow.gov.uk
Leeds City Council1/1leeds.gov.uk
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham1/1lbbd.gov.uk
London Borough of Barnet1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Bexley1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Brent1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Bromley1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Camden1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Croydon1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Ealing1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Enfield1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Hackney1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Haringey1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Harrow1/1harrow.gov.uk
London Borough of Havering1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Hillingdon1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Hounslow1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Islington1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Lambeth1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Lewisham1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Merton1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Newham1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Redbridge1/1redbridge.gov.uk
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Southwark1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Sutton1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Tower Hamlets1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Waltham Forest1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Wandsworth1/1london.gov.uk
Manchester City Council1/1greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk
North Lanarkshire Council1/1northlanarkshire.gov.uk
North Somerset Council1/1n-somerset.gov.uk
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council1/1greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk
Plymouth City Council1/1plymswdevonplan.co.uk
Reading Borough Council1/1images.reading.gov.uk
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council1/1greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Greenwich1/1royalgreenwich.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea1/1london.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames1/1london.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead1/1rbwm.gov.uk
Salford City Council1/1greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk
Sheffield City Council1/1haveyoursay.sheffield.gov.uk
Shropshire Council - Unitary1/1shropshire.gov.uk
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council1/1solihull.gov.uk
South Ayrshire Council1/1south-ayrshire.gov.uk
South Gloucestershire Council1/1beta.southglos.gov.uk
Stirling Council1/1stirling.gov.uk
Swansea City Council1/1swansea.gov.uk
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council1/1greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council1/1greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council1/1wakefield.gov.uk
West Berkshire Council1/1westberks.gov.uk
Westminster City Council1/1london.gov.uk
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council1/1greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk
Wirral Council1/1wirral.gov.uk
Wokingham Borough Council1/1wokingham.gov.uk
Aberdeen City Council0/1
Angus Council0/1
Argyll and Bute Council0/1
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Birmingham City Council0/1
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0/1
Blackpool Borough Council0/1
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council0/1
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council0/1
Bradford Metropolitan District Council0/1
Bristol City Council0/1
Buckinghamshire Council0/1
Caerphilly County Borough Council0/1
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Cardiff Council0/1
Carmarthenshire County Council0/1
Central Bedfordshire Council0/1
Ceredigion County Council0/1
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)0/1
Cheshire West and Chester Council0/1
City of York Council0/1
Clackmannanshire Council0/1
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar0/1
Conwy County Borough Council0/1
Coventry City Council0/1
Darlington Borough Council0/1
Denbighshire County Council0/1
Derby City Council0/1
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dorset Council0/1
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/1
Dundee City Council0/1
East Dunbartonshire Council0/1
East Lothian Council0/1
East Riding of Yorkshire Council0/1
Falkirk Council0/1
Fife Council0/1
Flintshire County Council0/1
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Gwynedd County Council0/1
Halton Borough Council0/1
Hartlepool Borough Council0/1
Herefordshire Council0/1
Inverclyde Council0/1
Isle of Anglesey County Council0/1
Isles of Scilly0/1
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council0/1
Kirklees Council0/1
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Leicester City Council0/1
Liverpool City Council0/1
Luton Borough Council0/1
Medway Council0/1
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council0/1
Middlesbrough Borough Council0/1
Midlothian Council0/1
Milton Keynes0/1
Monmouthshire County Council0/1
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council0/1
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council0/1
Newport City Council0/1
North Ayrshire Council0/1
North East Lincolnshire Council0/1
North Lincolnshire Council0/1
North Northamptonshire Council0/1
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Northumberland Council0/1
Nottingham City Council0/1
Orkney Islands Council0/1
Pembrokeshire County Council0/1
Perth and Kinross Council0/1
Peterborough City Council0/1
Portsmouth City Council0/1
Powys County Council0/1
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/1
Renfrewshire Council0/1
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council0/1
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Rutland County Council0/1
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Scottish Borders Council0/1
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Shetland Islands Council0/1
Slough Borough Council0/1
Southampton City Council0/1
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0/1
South Lanarkshire Council0/1
South Tyneside Council0/1
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council0/1
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/1
Sunderland City Council0/1
Swindon Borough Council0/1
Telford & Wrekin Council0/1
The Highland Council0/1
The Moray Council0/1
Thurrock Council0/1
Torbay Council0/1
Torfaen County Borough Council0/1
Vale of Glamorgan Council0/1
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Warrington Borough Council0/1
West Dunbartonshire Council0/1
West Lothian Council0/1
West Northamptonshire Council0/1
Wiltshire Council0/1
Wolverhampton City Council0/1
Wrexham County Borough Council0/1