2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council taken clear steps to support active travel?

Question code
Active Travel
National Data
Question weight


We will use the Active Travel England's capability ratings to answer this question. The following points will be awarded for each of the 5 different ratings used by Active Travel England.

Points awarded if if the local authority received a "Rating 1".
Further marks awarded if the local authority received a "Rating 2", "Rating 3", or "Rating 4" they will receive further points consecutively.


Active Travel England's capability ratings can be found here:

Where a Combined Authority has been marked for the region the Combined Authorities score will be applied to every local authority within the area.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

1 single tier council

1 point

35 single tier councils

2 points

37 single tier councils

3 points

24 single tier councils

4 points

0 single tier councils
Birmingham City Council3/4gov.uk
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Bradford Metropolitan District Council3/4gov.uk
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Coventry City Council3/4gov.uk
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Kirklees Council3/4gov.uk
Leeds City Council3/4gov.uk
Leicester City Council3/4gov.uk
Manchester City Council3/4gov.uk
Nottingham City Council3/4gov.uk
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Salford City Council3/4gov.uk
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council3/4gov.uk
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council3/4gov.uk
Wolverhampton City Council3/4gov.uk
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Bath and North East Somerset Council2/4gov.uk
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Brighton and Hove City Council2/4gov.uk
Bristol City Council2/4gov.uk
Buckinghamshire Council2/4gov.uk
Darlington Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Durham County Council2/4gov.uk
East Riding of Yorkshire Council2/4gov.uk
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Halton Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Hartlepool Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Liverpool City Council2/4gov.uk
Middlesbrough Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council2/4gov.uk
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Northumberland Council2/4gov.uk
Peterborough City Council2/4gov.uk
Plymouth City Council2/4gov.uk
Reading Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Redcar and Cleveland Council2/4gov.uk
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Sheffield City Council2/4gov.uk
Somerset Council2/4gov.uk
Southampton City Council2/4gov.uk
South Gloucestershire Council2/4gov.uk
South Tyneside Council2/4gov.uk
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Sunderland City Council2/4gov.uk
Telford & Wrekin Council2/4gov.uk
Warrington Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Wirral Council2/4gov.uk
Wokingham Borough Council2/4gov.uk
Bedford Borough Council1/4gov.uk
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council1/4gov.uk
Blackpool Borough Council1/4gov.uk
Bracknell Forest Council1/4gov.uk
Central Bedfordshire Council1/4gov.uk
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)1/4gov.uk
Cheshire West and Chester Council1/4gov.uk
City of York Council1/4gov.uk
Cornwall Council (Unitary)1/4gov.uk
Derby City Council1/4gov.uk
Dorset Council1/4gov.uk
Herefordshire Council1/4gov.uk
Isle of Wight Council1/4gov.uk
Isles of Scilly1/4gov.uk
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council1/4gov.uk
Luton Borough Council1/4gov.uk
Medway Council1/4gov.uk
Milton Keynes1/4gov.uk
North East Lincolnshire Council1/4gov.uk
North Lincolnshire Council1/4gov.uk
North Northamptonshire Council1/4gov.uk
North Somerset Council1/4gov.uk
North Yorkshire Council1/4gov.uk
Portsmouth City Council1/4gov.uk
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead1/4gov.uk
Shropshire Council - Unitary1/4gov.uk
Slough Borough Council1/4gov.uk
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council1/4gov.uk
Stoke-on-Trent City Council1/4gov.uk
Swindon Borough Council1/4gov.uk
Thurrock Council1/4gov.uk
Torbay Council1/4gov.uk
West Berkshire Council1/4gov.uk
West Northamptonshire Council1/4gov.uk
Wiltshire Council1/4gov.uk
Rutland County Council0/4