2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Do the PM 2.5 levels in a significant proportion of neighbourhoods in the council’s area exceed the safe World Health Organisation (WHO) air pollution guidelines?

Question code
National Data
Question weight


Negatively Scored Question

A local authority will be negatively scored if they have 25% or more LSOAs (Lower-layer Super Output Areas) above the World Health Organisations (WHO) PM 2.5 guidelines.

A local authority will be further negatively scored if they have 75% or more LSOAs (Lower-layer Super Output Areas) above the World Health Organisations (WHO) PM 2.5 guidelines.


PM2.5 (Particulate Matter2.5) is the tiny particles or droplets in the air that are two and one half microns or less in width. PM 2.5 can be caused by burning fossil fuels, tyre wear and brake dust from cars and even weather variations. Data for PM 2.5 is less accurate at the local level and relies upon modelling due to a lack of national sensors.

LSOAs (Lower-layer Super Output Areas) are small areas designed to be of a similar population size, with an average of approximately 1,500 residents or 650 households. They are used to form the basis of the census.

WHO PM2.5 guidelines: PM 2.5 concentrations of 5 μg/m3 annual average.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

-1 points

141 single tier councils

-1 points

4 single tier councils

Councils without penalty marks

4 single tier councils
Conwy County Borough Council0/0
Gwynedd County Council0/0
Isle of Anglesey County Council0/0
Northumberland Council0/0
Ceredigion County Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Denbighshire County Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Durham County Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Powys County Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Bath and North East Somerset Council-1/0mapst.ac
Bedford Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Birmingham City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Blackpool Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Bracknell Forest Council-1/0mapst.ac
Bradford Metropolitan District Council-1/0mapst.ac
Bridgend County Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Brighton and Hove City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Bristol City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Buckinghamshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Caerphilly County Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Cardiff Council-1/0mapst.ac
Carmarthenshire County Council-1/0mapst.ac
Central Bedfordshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)-1/0mapst.ac
Cheshire West and Chester Council-1/0mapst.ac
City of London-1/0mapst.ac
City of York Council-1/0mapst.ac
Cornwall Council (Unitary)-1/0mapst.ac
Coventry City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Darlington Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Derby City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Dorset Council-1/0mapst.ac
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
East Riding of Yorkshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
Flintshire County Council-1/0mapst.ac
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Halton Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Hartlepool Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Herefordshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
Isle of Wight Council-1/0mapst.ac
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Kirklees Council-1/0mapst.ac
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Leeds City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Leicester City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Liverpool City Council-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Barnet-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Bexley-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Brent-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Bromley-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Camden-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Croydon-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Ealing-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Enfield-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Hackney-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Haringey-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Harrow-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Havering-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Hillingdon-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Hounslow-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Islington-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Lambeth-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Lewisham-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Merton-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Newham-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Redbridge-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Southwark-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Sutton-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Tower Hamlets-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Waltham Forest-1/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Wandsworth-1/0mapst.ac
Luton Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Manchester City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Medway Council-1/0mapst.ac
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Middlesbrough Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Milton Keynes-1/0mapst.ac
Monmouthshire County Council-1/0mapst.ac
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Newport City Council-1/0mapst.ac
North East Lincolnshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
North Lincolnshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
North Northamptonshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
North Somerset Council-1/0mapst.ac
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Nottingham City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Pembrokeshire County Council-1/0mapst.ac
Peterborough City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Plymouth City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Portsmouth City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Reading Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Redcar and Cleveland Council-1/0mapst.ac
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Royal Borough of Greenwich-1/0mapst.ac
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea-1/0mapst.ac
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames-1/0mapst.ac
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead-1/0mapst.ac
Rutland County Council-1/0mapst.ac
Salford City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Sheffield City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Shropshire Council - Unitary-1/0mapst.ac
Slough Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Southampton City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
South Gloucestershire Council-1/0mapst.ac
South Tyneside Council-1/0mapst.ac
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Stoke-on-Trent City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Sunderland City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Swansea City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Swindon Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Telford & Wrekin Council-1/0mapst.ac
Thurrock Council-1/0mapst.ac
Torbay Council-1/0mapst.ac
Torfaen County Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Vale of Glamorgan Council-1/0mapst.ac
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council-1/0mapst.ac
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Warrington Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
West Berkshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
Westminster City Council-1/0mapst.ac
West Northamptonshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Wiltshire Council-1/0mapst.ac
Wirral Council-1/0mapst.ac
Wokingham Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac
Wolverhampton City Council-1/0mapst.ac
Wrexham County Borough Council-1/0mapst.ac