2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Do the NO2 levels in a significant proportion of neighbourhoods within the council’s area exceed the safe World Health Organisation (WHO) air pollution guidelines?

Question code
National Data
Question weight


Negatively Scored Question
A council will be negatively scored if they have 25% or more LSOAs (Lower-layer Super Output Areas) above the World Health Organisations (WHO) NO2 guidelines.

A council will be further negatively scored if they have 75% or more LSOAs (Lower-layer Super Output Areas) above the World Health Organisations (WHO) NO2 guidelines.


NO2 - Nitrogen dioxide, or NO2, is a gaseous air pollutant composed of nitrogen and oxygen and is one of a group of related gases called nitrogen oxides, or NOx. NO2 forms when fossil fuels such as coal, oil, gas or diesel are burned at high temperatures. NO2 in the UK is mostly a result of fossil fuel cars. Data for NO2 in the UK is strong due to a good network of national sensors therefore we have used a stronger criteria.

LSOAs (Lower-layer Super Output Areas) are small areas designed to be of a similar population size, with an average of approximately 1,500 residents or 650 households. They are used to form the basis of the census.

WHO NO2 guidelines: Nitrogen dioxide (NO2) concentrations of 10 µg/m3 annual average.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

-2 points

78 single tier councils

-1 points

25 single tier councils

Councils without penalty marks

46 single tier councils
Bath and North East Somerset Council0/0
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0/0
Blackpool Borough Council0/0
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council0/0
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council0/0
Bridgend County Borough Council0/0
Caerphilly County Borough Council0/0
Carmarthenshire County Council0/0
Central Bedfordshire Council0/0
Ceredigion County Council0/0
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)0/0
Cheshire West and Chester Council0/0
City of York Council0/0
Conwy County Borough Council0/0
Cornwall Council (Unitary)0/0
Darlington Borough Council0/0
Denbighshire County Council0/0
Dorset Council0/0
Durham County Council0/0
East Riding of Yorkshire Council0/0
Flintshire County Council0/0
Gwynedd County Council0/0
Hartlepool Borough Council0/0
Herefordshire Council0/0
Isle of Anglesey County Council0/0
Isle of Wight Council0/0
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council0/0
Monmouthshire County Council0/0
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council0/0
North Lincolnshire Council0/0
North Somerset Council0/0
Northumberland Council0/0
Pembrokeshire County Council0/0
Plymouth City Council0/0
Powys County Council0/0
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council0/0
Rutland County Council0/0
Shropshire Council - Unitary0/0
Swansea City Council0/0
Telford & Wrekin Council0/0
Torbay Council0/0
Torfaen County Borough Council0/0
Vale of Glamorgan Council0/0
West Berkshire Council0/0
Wiltshire Council0/0
Wrexham County Borough Council0/0
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Bedford Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Bradford Metropolitan District Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Buckinghamshire Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Kirklees Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Middlesbrough Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Milton Keynes-0.50/0mapst.ac
Newport City Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
North East Lincolnshire Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
North Northamptonshire Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Redcar and Cleveland Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Sheffield City Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
South Gloucestershire Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Stoke-on-Trent City Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Sunderland City Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Swindon Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
West Northamptonshire Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Wirral Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Wokingham Borough Council-0.50/0mapst.ac
Birmingham City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Bracknell Forest Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Brighton and Hove City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Bristol City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Cardiff Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
City of London-1.50/0mapst.ac
Coventry City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Derby City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Halton Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Leeds City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Leicester City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Liverpool City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Barnet-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Bexley-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Brent-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Bromley-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Camden-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Croydon-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Ealing-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Enfield-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Hackney-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Haringey-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Harrow-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Havering-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Hillingdon-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Hounslow-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Islington-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Lambeth-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Lewisham-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Merton-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Newham-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Redbridge-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Southwark-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Sutton-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Tower Hamlets-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Waltham Forest-1.50/0mapst.ac
London Borough of Wandsworth-1.50/0mapst.ac
Luton Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Manchester City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Medway Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Nottingham City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Peterborough City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Portsmouth City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Reading Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Royal Borough of Greenwich-1.50/0mapst.ac
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea-1.50/0mapst.ac
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames-1.50/0mapst.ac
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead-1.50/0mapst.ac
Salford City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Slough Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Southampton City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
South Tyneside Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Thurrock Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Warrington Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Westminster City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council-1.50/0mapst.ac
Wolverhampton City Council-1.50/0mapst.ac