2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council completed extensive retrofit work on any of its significant buildings to make them low carbon?

Question code
Buildings & Heating
Council buildings - retrofit
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Criteria met if the council have done any of the following extensive retrofit works for any one of its significant buildings:
- created on-site renewable energy
- whole building retrofitting, including heat pump installations
- extensive insulation of walls and floors
- replacing gas boilers or installing a combined heating system

Additional points awarded if the retrofit has been awarded a standard such as BREEAM Refurbishment and fit-out (any level), AECB Retrofit standard (Bronze, Silver or Gold) or any other recognised standard.


Significant council buildings refers to leisure centres, libraries, council town halls or offices, community centres, schools & colleges (not academies or private schools) or care homes.

Extensive retrofit (sometimes called deep retrofit) refers to significant works of size or scale that result in a fundamental change to the building structure and/or services. This could be a collection of lots of small retrofit enhancements, or a single larger and disruptive measure, such as installing a combined heat system.

The work must be completed, not in progress.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

87 district councils

1 point

72 district councils

2 points

5 district councils
Dover District Council2/2dover.gov.uk
East Hertfordshire District Council2/2view.officeapps.live.com
Eastleigh Borough Council2/2eastleigh.gov.uk
Hyndburn Borough Council2/2hyndburnbc.gov.uk
Norwich City Council2/2norwich.gov.uk
Adur District Council1/2adur-worthing.gov.uk
Amber Valley Borough Council1/2ambervalley.gov.uk
Arun District Council1/2arun.gov.uk
Ashfield District Council1/2ashfield.gov.uk
Ashford Borough Council1/2ashford.gov.uk
Brentwood Borough Council1/2brentwood.gov.uk
Broadland District Council1/2southnorfolkandbroadland.gov.uk
Bromsgrove District Council1/2bromsgrove.gov.uk
Burnley Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Cambridge City Council1/2google.com
City of Lincoln Council1/2lincoln.gov.uk
Colchester Borough Council1/2colchester.cmis.uk.com
Cotswold District Council1/2gov.uk
Crawley Borough Council1/2democracy.crawley.gov.uk
Dartford Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Derbyshire Dales District Council1/2derbyshiredales.gov.uk
East Lindsey District Council1/2e-lindsey.gov.uk
East Suffolk Council1/2eastsuffolk.gov.uk
Elmbridge Borough Council1/2news.elmbridge.gov.uk
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council1/2epsom-ewell.gov.uk
Erewash Borough Council1/2erewash.gov.uk
Exeter City Council1/2exeter.gov.uk
Forest of Dean District Council1/2fdean.gov.uk
Gedling Borough Council1/2gedling.gov.uk
Gloucester City Council1/2gov.uk
Harlow Council1/2gov.uk
Hart District Council1/2hart.gov.uk
Hertsmere Borough Council1/2hertsmere.gov.uk
Horsham District Council1/2gov.uk
Huntingdonshire District Council1/2gov.uk
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council1/2west-norfolk.gov.uk
Lancaster City Council1/2lancaster.gov.uk
Lichfield District Council1/2lichfielddc.gov.uk
Malvern Hills District Council1/2malvernhills.gov.uk
Mansfield District Council1/2mansfieldandashfield2020.com
Mid Devon District Council1/2sustainablemiddevon.org.uk
Mid Suffolk District Council1/2babergh.gov.uk
Mid Sussex District Council1/2midsussex.gov.uk
Mole Valley District Council1/2molevalley.gov.uk
New Forest District Council1/2newforest.gov.uk
North Devon Council1/2doddgroup.com
North East Derbyshire District Council1/2ne-derbyshire.gov.uk
North Kesteven District Council1/2n-kesteven.gov.uk
North Norfolk District Council1/2north-norfolk.gov.uk
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council1/2oadby-wigston.gov.uk
Oxford City Council1/2oxford.gov.uk
Redditch Borough Council1/2local.gov.uk
Runnymede Borough Council1/2democracy.runnymede.gov.uk
Rushmoor Borough Council1/2rushmoor.gov.uk
South Cambridgeshire District Council1/2scambs.moderngov.co.uk
South Derbyshire District Council1/2southderbyshire.gov.uk
South Norfolk District Council1/2southnorfolkandbroadland.gov.uk
South Ribble Borough Council1/2southribble.gov.uk
South Staffordshire Council1/2staffordshire.gov.uk
Spelthorne Borough Council1/2spelthorne.gov.uk
Stafford Borough Council1/2staffordbc.gov.uk
St Albans City and District Council1/2stalbans.gov.uk
Stroud District Council1/2stroud.moderngov.co.uk
Tandridge District Council1/2tandridge.gov.uk
Teignbridge District Council1/2gov.uk
Tewkesbury Borough Council1/2tewkesbury.gov.uk
Three Rivers District Council1/2threerivers.gov.uk
Torridge District Council1/2torridge.gov.uk
Vale of White Horse District Council1/2whitehorsedc.gov.uk
Watford Borough Council1/2watford.moderngov.co.uk
Waverley Borough Council1/2waverley.gov.uk
Wealden District Council1/2wealden.gov.uk
Welwyn Hatfield Council1/2one.welhat.gov.uk
West Lindsey District Council1/2west-lindsey.gov.uk
Woking Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Wychavon District Council1/2wychavon.gov.uk
Wyre Forest District Council1/2wyreforestdc.gov.uk
Babergh District Council0/2
Basildon Borough Council0/2
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council0/2
Bassetlaw District Council0/2
Blaby District Council0/2
Bolsover District Council0/2
Borough of Broxbourne0/2
Boston Borough Council0/2
Braintree District Council0/2
Breckland District Council0/2
Broxtowe Borough Council0/2
Cannock Chase District Council0/2
Canterbury City Council0/2
Castle Point Borough Council0/2
Charnwood Borough Council0/2
Chelmsford City Council0/2
Cheltenham Borough Council0/2
Cherwell District Council0/2
Chesterfield Borough Council0/2
Chichester District Council0/2
Chorley Council0/2
Dacorum Council0/2
Eastbourne Borough Council0/2
East Cambridgeshire District Council0/2
East Devon District Council0/2
East Hampshire District Council0/2
East Staffordshire Borough Council0/2
Epping Forest District Council0/2
Fareham Borough Council0/2
Fenland District Council0/2
Folkestone and Hythe District Council0/2
Fylde Borough Council0/2
Gosport Borough Council0/2
Gravesham Borough Council0/2
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/2
Guildford Borough Council0/2
Harborough District Council0/2
Hastings Borough Council0/2
Havant Borough Council0/2
High Peak Borough Council0/2
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council0/2
Ipswich Borough Council0/2
Lewes District Council0/2
Maidstone Borough Council0/2
Maldon District Council0/2
Melton Borough Council0/2
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/2
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/2
North Hertfordshire District Council0/2
North Warwickshire Borough Council0/2
North West Leicestershire District Council0/2
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/2
Pendle Borough Council0/2
Preston City Council0/2
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council0/2
Ribble Valley Borough Council0/2
Rochford District Council0/2
Rossendale Borough Council0/2
Rother District Council0/2
Rugby Borough Council0/2
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/2
Sevenoaks District Council0/2
South Hams District Council0/2
South Holland District Council0/2
South Kesteven District Council0/2
South Oxfordshire District Council0/2
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/2
Stevenage Borough Council0/2
Stratford-on-Avon District Council0/2
Surrey Heath Borough Council0/2
Swale Borough Council0/2
Tamworth Borough Council0/2
Tendring District Council0/2
Test Valley Borough Council0/2
Thanet District Council0/2
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council0/2
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council0/2
Uttlesford District Council0/2
Warwick District Council0/2
West Devon Borough Council0/2
West Lancashire Borough Council0/2
West Oxfordshire District Council0/2
West Suffolk Council0/2
Winchester City Council0/2
Worcester City Council0/2
Worthing Borough Council0/2
Wyre Council0/2